My Pirate Shirt

I accidentally wore my pirate t-shirt to a meeting with management today.

Alright, so after such a long unexpected hiatus, I believe I owe you some background. First off, thank you for everyone who checked in on my blog while I was gone. I appreciate knowing that people want to hear more about me.

So, with that in mind, let’s talk about what’s going on. First off, I have been working for Circor, an aerospace manufacturing firm, for the past two months. The experience has been plentiful, and though I started off doing process planning for overhaul components, I’ve been shifting around and learning each of the key phases of overhaul for aircraft landing gear. In a nutshell, my company performs routine maintenance on mostly commercial aircraft (747s, 757s, DC-10s, etc). This involves an exhaustive breakdown of every component in the assembly, with various dimension and material inspections.

That’s all fine and dandy, but I get bored easily. After a quick conversation with the overhaul manager, I drew up some blueprints for an improved short-term layout that simplifies part processing flow and reduces clutter. The manager seemed to like that, so he showed the plant manager, who liked it, who then showed the vice president, who liked it. I pitched that idea, along with a few others, to various people over next few days. Within a week and a half of that I have become a mandatory member of the layout management meetings and head of the blueprint layout design. Not bad for an intern.

Naturally, I quit my job at the medical office where I have spent the past two and a half years, and while it’s sad for me to end things, the progressive feeling I get with the new work I’m doing makes the typical work week so, so, so much more bearable. For anyone who is terrified about taking that first step into the corporate world I say don’t be afraid, because it will be worthwhile in a very short time.

My last semester of school begins in two weeks. Oh yeah, how could I forget: do you remember the Intelligent Ground Vehicle team I wrote about in the past? We ended up with first place worldwide at our competition. In addition, I’ve been invited to speak at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena about the work our team did in machine vision processing. I’m seriously not making this stuff up.

Today has been a different day for me though as I prepare for the last month before my wedding. I cannot begin to tell you how excited I am about getting married. The changes and paths I’m taking now are huge monuments for the rest of my life, and I’m happy to share them with you. I promise to post more regularly again and share my thoughts.

~ by MichaelStaudenmeir on August 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
