The Gift of Fallen Assumptions

Christmas is just two days away, tugging a new year along with it. The mental change between one period of time into the next is influencial in our lives, guiding our ambitions, as well as our fears. Some of these feelings affect assumptions we make about places or people, preventing us from otherwise enjoying variation from the norm.

It’s been a few months since I first applied for Boeing, and while I’ve put in applications, found some names, and spoke to some people, nothing has really come up yet. Their typical hiring period for the summer internships runs between September and November, and at a month afterwards, I don’t think it’s going to happen right now.

While I was (and still am) looking forward to the idea of Boeing, I know that it’s a big company; in fact, much bigger than any company I’ve worked for so far. Maybe there are still some kinks I need to work on in my resume, or maybe the market is too flooded, or maybe my applications simply got lost in the fray; I will apply there again in the future, but now just doesn’t seem the time.

Now, I’m not normally the type of guy that bounces back into the dating scene, but I’ve had the pleasure of speaking with some people at Jet Propulsion Labs in Pasadena.

This pleasure seems to have come out of right field. For a few years now I’ve had some sour script in my subconscious that has told me JPL isn’t where I want to spend my time. Don’t ask; I have no idea where or when this began.

This change of heart began about 2 weeks ago at a Christmas party for the church staff, when I met a woman named Karissa who recently landed a job at JPL. She is attractive and extremely charismatic, and I was shocked when she told me where she worked, largely due to my impression of a lab filled with shy, unsociable people. She mentioned how great the company has been to her and how quickly they sent word about accepting her application; something that I found particularly interesting. After hearing some stories, I thanked her for talking and left home with something under my skin.

Since that night, I’ve spoken with a few other people that have interned or worked for the company. Two things have come from this: first, I was completely misguided by my own impression, and two, this sounds like the kind of place I could enjoy working at for a while. Sometimes I get so focused on what I think or feel is right that, when someone breaks through my barriers at an unguarded moment, I begin to see people, places, and ideas in a more respectable light. It feels good to have a change of heart like that.

As an added bonus, I checked my grades for the fall semester today and found that I aced my aerospace design class. It was a wonderful feeling of accomplishment, and I have never enjoyed working on a report as much as I did for the cumulative sounding rocket design project for that class.

The gift of fallen assumptions has come as an early Christmas present, and one that I intend to explore more in the upcoming year. After I put in my application for JPL this week, and for any other businesses I develop interest in, I know I will experience more to share as I live my life.

~ by MichaelStaudenmeir on December 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
