A Great Occasion

In one year from today, Ashley and I will be getting married.

This time is full of all sorts of excitement for both of us. Last weekend, I bought the wedding ring for her, and tomorrow we celebrate five years together. I cannot put into words how excited I am for all that is going on in my personal life, but I can say that, after five years, she still drives me crazy in all the right ways. And I love her very much.

It’s interesting to think of how far we can come in a short period of time. Five years is not what most people would call short; it is half of a decade after all. The whole experience has helped me add some warm, delicious perspective to the situation that I find myself in. In particular, I am trading in some of my worries and frustrations about not moving quickly enough in life. My ambitions for any upcoming careers are colossal, and while most days I am actually afraid that I’m wasting my time and missing opprotunities, I believe from experience that great opprotunities will spring out of unlikely places with an undetermined but strong frequency.

Boeing is just now opening up summer internships for their engineering program, and I have been working to set up my resume for the best possible chance of success. I have been fortunate enough to have my good friend Dave provide some advice, and he even offered his own resume as a template. As I read through his experiences and honors though, I couldn’t help but feel like maybe this job is out of my league. True, it’s only an entry level internship, but I have sacrificed work experience for money from unrelated employment, and a creeping fear of missed opprotunity has been upon me for months. However, with this new perspective from my relationship with Ashley, I know that the experiences in my life have been worthwhile, and it is up to me to prove that. As long as I keep focused and don’t give up, more experience will come; the only thing I have to lose is time. Which, frankly, I have a lot of left.

My primary occupational focus for status as a Disney Imagineer is very likely, but perhaps not for a while. That’s fine though; there are many other great experiences (such as Boeing) that I can take part in in the meanwhile, and if Boeing doesn’t work now, then I’ll look elsewhere. I keep telling myself never to give up, and now, I’m reinforcing that to focus on tomorrow, instead of worrying about today.

* Very interesting find today from my email. Here’s an article about taking time and perfecting ideas, rather than pitching hundreds of lackluster ideas. I feel it’s a strong heading in the direction I’m going, by moving from the worry of not getting started soon enough to acting with results based planning: http://www.iwillteachyoutoberich.com/blog/getting-started-is-bad-advice/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+IWillTeachYouToBeRich+%28I+Will+Teach+You+To+Be+Rich%29#

~ by MichaelStaudenmeir on September 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
